MCAD LIBRARY

The Minneapolis College of Art and Design Library contains more than 45,000 books, more than 1,200 DVDs, and subscribes to more than 100 periodicals.
NEW DISPLAY: ROCK!
Our new display here at the MCAD Library focuses on the history and art of Rock n Roll music. The books will be shown at the front desk, and yes, they are ready for check out. And if you’re looking for a book or other media on the subject, there are actually plenty of other books on the shelves.

NEW DISPLAY: ROCK!

Our new display here at the MCAD Library focuses on the history and art of Rock n Roll music. The books will be shown at the front desk, and yes, they are ready for check out. And if you’re looking for a book or other media on the subject, there are actually plenty of other books on the shelves.

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:
Cut and Fold Techniques for Pop-Up Design by Paul Jackson
Learn many different ways of turning an ordinary piece of paper into a 3-dimensional structure in Paul Jackson’s latest book on paper engineering. With step-by-step instructions, you can craft paper into little sculptures of your own.
Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:

Cut and Fold Techniques for Pop-Up Design by Paul Jackson

Learn many different ways of turning an ordinary piece of paper into a 3-dimensional structure in Paul Jackson’s latest book on paper engineering. With step-by-step instructions, you can craft paper into little sculptures of your own.

Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:
Gasoline Alley: The Complete Sundays 1920-1922 by Frank King
The Sunday Pages of Gasoline Alley follow stories of Walt Wallet and his foundling son, Skeezix. They discover the beauty of nature, and learn life lessons together and from one another in these humorous comics. Volume one includes every strip from 1920 to 1922 in full color.
Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:

Gasoline Alley: The Complete Sundays 1920-1922 by Frank King

The Sunday Pages of Gasoline Alley follow stories of Walt Wallet and his foundling son, Skeezix. They discover the beauty of nature, and learn life lessons together and from one another in these humorous comics. Volume one includes every strip from 1920 to 1922 in full color.

Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:

The City by Lori Nix

Explore deserted urban environments that are, in fact, artificially made and really really small. These dioramas explore what it looks like when nature takes back what is man-made. See more of this beautiful emptiness in The City, and be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY
Glam Rock: Dandies in the Underworld  by Alwyn W. Turner
A history the Glam Rock and how it affected fashion, music, theater, and other popular cultural. Fans of David Bowie, T. Rex, Mott the Hoople, and other such rock groups are going to want to see this book!
Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY

Glam Rock: Dandies in the Underworld  by Alwyn W. Turner

A history the Glam Rock and how it affected fashion, music, theater, and other popular cultural. Fans of David Bowie, T. Rex, Mott the Hoople, and other such rock groups are going to want to see this book!

Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:

Maps by Aleksandra Mizielińska and Daniel Mizieliński

Over 100 different maps of countries of the world; it seems not one corner of the Earth was missed! Each individual map has little illustrations of important events, people, animals, or just interesting facts about the country. You might just learn something new while looking at these huge drawings. Celebrate the world with Aleksandra Mizielińska and Daniel Mizieliński and take a vacation in Maps.

Be the first to check it out at the MCAD Library!

NEW ARRIVAL TO THE MCAD LIBRARY:

Night Watch: Painting With Light by Noel Kerns

If you like old and abandoned places like diners, military bases, churches, and even urban buildings, then you will love the photography of Noel Kerns. Kerns’ photos capture the beauty of wastelands at night that are hard to describe in any way other than photography. Hundreds of pages with photos like these have arrived to MCAD in Night Watch: Painting With Light, be the first to check this new book out at the MCAD Library!

NEW DISPLAY: CONCEPT ART
Our current display at the MCAD Library desk features concept, preliminary, and process art books from our collection. Including but not limited to: The Last of Us, The Dark Crystal, Star Wars (also new to the collection), ParaNorman, and various other animations, movies, and video games.

NEW DISPLAY: CONCEPT ART

Our current display at the MCAD Library desk features concept, preliminary, and process art books from our collection. Including but not limited to: The Last of Us, The Dark Crystal, Star Wars (also new to the collection), ParaNorman, and various other animations, movies, and video games.

NEW TO OUR COLLECTION:

100 Works of Art That Will Define Our Age by Kelly Grovier

Published byThames & Hudson in  2013, this book provides a great overview for those well-versed in contemporary art and art criticism and those who are looking for a starting point to great art made in the last fifty years. Pictured above are famous works by Damien Hirst, William Kentridge, and Takashi Murakami. There are 97 more examples in these pages that showcase brilliant art being created today.